Drug-Impaired Driving Laws in the US

Drug-impaired driving laws in nineteen states in America punish drivers who are under the influence of a drug including alcohol while driving a vehicle.

A program known as the International Drug Evaluation and Classification (DEC) aims at detecting a vehicle driver impaired by drugs and the kind of drug present in the system of the driver. Detection of a drug impaired driver, through the program, is done in twelve steps which include breath alcohol test, arresting officer interview, preliminary evaluation, eye evaluation, psycho-motor tests, vital signs detection, dark room examination, muscle tone, injection sites, suspect interrogation, opinion of the evaluator, toxicological examination.

Below are three American states cited for their laws on drug-impaired driving:

Indiana

Drug impaired driving laws in the state of Indiana classifies an offender for a Class C misdemeanor when the alcohol concentration of the apprehended motor vehicle driver is greater than or equal to 0.08 grams and less than 0.15 grams of alcohol per 100 milliliters of blood or 210 liters of breath. A class C misdemeanor is also imposed when the driver is determined to be driving with schedule l or ll substance such as marijuana, methamphetamine or cocaine. Class C misdemeanor is punishable by up to 60 days in prison and up to $500 in fine.

Iowa

Drug impaired driving laws in Iowa state that it is unlawful to drive a vehicle in Iowa when driver is under the influence of either a drug or an alcoholic beverage or a combination. Alcohol concentration of 0.08 or more in the apprehended individual and any amount of controlled substance in his or her body are considered a violation of the Iowa law.

Delaware

Delaware drug impaired driving laws state that a person may be arrested when driving under the influence or (DUI) either of a vehicle, an off-highway vehicle or a moped or while under the influence of alcohol or drugs. Apprehended violators are subjected to chemical test. A result indicating 0.08 percent blood alcohol concentration or greater as well as the presence of any drug either prescribed or illegal can convict the person of DUI. A chemical test greater than 0.05 percent already translates to an arrest for DUI.

However with many accidents involving drugged drivers, many prosecutors recommend that laws on DUI must be reviewed and updated so that the offenders will be convicted. There are novel drug substances (not limited to those which we popularly know) including prescription drugs that can impair a person’s ability to drive. These kinds of drugs must be included in the list, legal or illegal, because they can affect driving. Read Outdated Law Thwarts Prosecution of Drugged Drivers